I’ve always felt deep down that life is supposed to be a grand adventure. We were meant to take risks, get messy, make deep impacts, and live well.

I’ve desired for a while to not play it safe and wake up during a mid-life crisis panicked because I can’t name one substantial thing I ever did to better the world aside from buying a nice house, maintaining a nice job, and raising nice kids (of which are not bad things in and of themselves at all). It is when we stop at that out of fear or stubborn complacency, when we had a burning desire for more seared into our hearts.

Too many of us may feel the need to stuff our ‘adolescent fantasies of changing the world’ (as some may call it), deep down into ourselves where we don’t think about it anymore out of fear of failure or pain.

All good stories involve risk. Pain. The unknown. Facing insurmountable challenges with courage. We all want to be part of a good story, don’t we? None of us want the obstacles that come along with the territory.

The book “A Million Miles in a Thousand Years” by Don Miller recently described these thoughts on paper very well. He described these thoughts when I needed it the most – amidst one of those life-altering, scary, exciting, important life decisions.

Will I stay comfortable or run into the vast unknown future? Will I be an idealist, a realist, or try to find that ever-blurring line between the two?

I am still struggling with these opposing desires. I am lucky though, for I know my goals. Most people quite honestly can’t say that. They live each day with the challenges it contains and don’t think much about the grand future aside from financial security (which I firmly believe we need in order to have the luxury of freedom to pursue desires).

My goal is to see communities all over the world freed from the challenges that come with natural flooding disasters. Death. Loss of livestock. Destroyed crops, income. Crumbled homes. Sickness. An endless cycle of poverty.

I desire to be part of drainage analyses for communities that can’t afford traditional engineering studies. I foresee the implementation of drainage structures both natural and man-made for the betterment of communities. I will work with foreign governments, NGOs, educational institutions, churches, and engineering/construction firms to see this work carried forth.

I must follow through with this dream that has been placed on my heart. Step by step. Day by day. I can’t see more than 2 steps ahead most of the time, but I trust in God’s faithfulness and grand storytelling. He has prepared my steps and will light my path. It is up to be to be obedient.

But what happens when you honestly aren’t sure which path is the wisest to take? Can both achieve the same results? It is in the time that I pray for divine guidance and trust that whatever decision I make, God will help me to live well in that decision.

I struggle with fear and complacency. But my desire to be part of God’s story of redemption, no matter the costs, trumps those fears and tendencies to chase comfort. Well, sometimes 🙂 Thanks be to God for being strong enough to overcome ourselves.

