Tags

, , ,

Waiting patiently on God’s plan – this concept was put in the Bible over and over for good reason. We all know that God’s plan for us is best, yet we often find ourselves time and again trying to figure everything out on our own.

“I waited patiently for the Lord; he turned to me and heard my cry. He lifted me out of the slimy pit, out of the mud and mire; he set my feet on a rock and gave me a firm place to stand.He put a new song in my mouth, a hymn of praise to our God. Many will see and fear the Lord and put their trust in him.” – Isaiah 40:1-3

A perfect illustration of how God has worked in our lives when we actually for one millisecond trusted him Him and waited on His plan patiently began a few months ago when my husband informed me that God had spoken to His heart very clearly. My husband doesn’t talk like this very often, so I knew I needed to listen carefully and honor his wishes whatever they may be. Adrian informed me that he felt like we were supposed to use our savings account to purchase a water well in Haiti. Out of nowhere he informs me of this. It had always been on my ‘bucket list’ to fully purchase a water well before I died, but I never thought it would be this soon given all that we were trying to pay off and ‘save up for.’ I had been praying for years that God would provide a husband in my life that placed others, specifically the thirsty, above himself. I kind of smiled and told my husband “Sure, if a water well from Haiti just happens to fall into our laps that needs funding, we will obey God in this command.” Well, sure enough, God decided to do something pretty funny.

Less than two days later I receive an email from a distant co-worker I had only spoken with a few times about how a fellow co-worker, I had never met before, just returned from Haiti and was raising funds for an organization he was involved in called CoreLuv. I saw on their website that they were fundraising, and an anonymous donor had agreed to match up to $50K of all donations for the month of May. I asked him if this was in any way affiliated with LWI, because we were lacking in our own fundraising for our trip to Nicaragua – I emailed them out of complete selfishness, hoping that we could perhaps be a part of this matching donation. How pitiful!

Long story short, I find out this guy helped start our current church, quit being a pastor to care for orphans in Haiti full-time, and desperately needed 2 water wells to be funded for a community in Haiti and an orphanage. When I asked him how much one of those cost, would ya believe he said the same exact dollar amount that God placed on my husband’s heart?! And with the matching donation, our funds would be able to purchase TWO water wells! We naturally were in awe of God’s orchestration, and so was the leader of this CoreLuv organization. He mentioned that the night before he was just praying for someone to provide the funds for clean water for this community, and the next morning I called him with what could only be explained as God’s divine provision.

My family was waiting patiently on God to use us in grand ways. We were waiting for God to pull us out of the slimy pit of selfishness and comfort. The families in Maya, Haiti were desperately waiting on clean water. They were waiting patiently on God to provide a means of life-giving. He set us all on a firm rock with this miraculous plan, and we all went away singing Praises and Hymns to His glorious name!

CoreLuv hit water on July 8th, and they were able to provide piping and pump installation for an amazing community of God’s children! How much grander are God’s ways than our own! Be encouraged friend, in this time of waiting God IS moving and planning redemption for all.

